OPINION


Column 10/14/2018, 9:45pm

Haasch: Transphobia on painted bridge panel mocks real social issues

The University of Minnesota College Republican’s bridge panel was vandalized this past Friday night or Saturday morning for the third year in a row. As a seasoned paint the bridge veteran and senior at the University, I am exactly the opposite of surprised. In the past three years — from basically the 2016 elections that made President Donald Trump the head of state onward — UMNCR has filled its panels with generally incendiary rhetoric. 


Editorial 10/14/2018, 9:44pm

Editorial: Get vaccinated

The return of fall means the return of many things, like colorful leaves, cooler temperatures and, everyone’s favorite, football games. However, it also means the return of flu season. This flu season, we urge every person to get their flu vaccination.


Letter to the Editor 10/14/2018, 9:43pm

Letter to the Editor: The gray-haired gopher

It was almost serendipitous that I stumbled upon the Senior Citizen Education Program. There it was in an article about great education benefits for us older people. It doesn’t take much to explain SCEP: any Minnesota resident over the age of 62 can audit a class at the University of Minnesota for free or take classes for credit at a ridiculously low tuition rate. 


Letter to the Editor 10/14/2018, 9:41pm

Letter to the Editor: Don't punish pain

Few would argue the need for a solution to end the drug abuse and addiction that ravage our communities. But as lawmakers consider necessary legislative action, they must not forget their constituents with legitimate pain management needs. In fact, many of us gathered in September for the “Don’t Punish Pain” rally in St. Paul to voice our concern over legislation and regulations that target legal opioid medications.  


Editorial 10/11/2018, 12:04am

Editorial: Show how powerful the student vote can be in November

Students on campus have not been silent about the recent nomination of Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court. Throughout the confirmation process, people protested against the nomination outside of Coffman Union, as well as protested outside of Northrop Auditorium. While it's important for students to use their voices to stand up for what they believe in, we cannot forget the power the student population has on decisions like these in the voting booth. 


Letter to the Editor 10/11/2018, 12:03am

Letter to the Editor: West Bank "improvement district" sets forth misconceptions

The Oct. 8 article, "West Bank liaisons could improve security and livability of neighborhood," sets forth some misconceptions. Establishment of an "improvement district" would not require "support from a majority of neighborhood businesses," but approval of at least 65 percent of the commercial property ownership. Several years ago, such an attempt was crushed by overwhelming opposition from the West Bank's property owners.  


Column 10/11/2018, 12:02am

Venkata: Humans caused climate change, but we can also mitigate it

Climate scientists’ prognosis for the future is so daunting and demoralizing that it takes uncommon strength to confront the problem head-on. Another saddening outcome is that most people, especially the ones in political and industrial power with the ability to help most, reject this problem altogether and pretend that it’s all drivel anyway. Of all responses to a terrifying problem, that is probably the most dangerous.


Column 10/8/2018, 7:42am

Schneider: We are never too young to respect one another and live a conscious life

I wasn’t sure I wanted to write this column. What would be the point of screaming into the partisan political void of heated debates, outright denials and tidal wave of opinions? There isn’t one, really. I try to write things that are productive, when I have something new or different to say. I thought I’d be muffled by the onslaught of media coverage and angry outcries.


10/8/2018, 7:42am

Editorial: It is time to re-evaluate the CLA Language Requirements

The University of Minnesota requires all College of Liberal Arts students pursuing a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Individualized Study to complete coursework equivalent to two years of a foreign language. The University offers 25 different languages that fulfill the language requirement, including American Sign Language, Italian and even Ojibwe. 


Letter to the Editor 10/8/2018, 7:40am

Letter to the Editor: On the minimum wage

Recently, there has been a push for a raise in student wages from the state minimum of $9.65 per hour to the current Minneapolis minimum of $11.25 per hour. Proponents claim this is justified out of student need. However, it is apparent to some that this claim is a scientific abomination, born out of emotion rather than reason.


Letter to the Editor 10/3/2018, 10:59pm

Is exclusion a function of population?

In such a diversified student body, how many of us really endure protracted desolation, depression, or even direct or indirect ostracism? Is exclusion a function of population, or is it merely an anomaly? The answer is more nuanced than intuitive. Firstly, many students have never experienced the overwhelming nature of the novelty that they are exposed to. 


Editorial 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Editorial: Student workers deserve a livable and higher wage

Recently, the University of Minnesota's Student Senate launched a year-long campaign to increase student minimum wage. By aiming to increase the wage to $11.25 an hour, the current minimum wage for Minneapolis, Student Senate members hopes to alleviate financial burdens for many students who juggle academics, jobs and extracurricular activities. We are in favor of the increase, as student workers deserve a sense of financial security, especially given recent tuition raises, in-state and beyond.


Column 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Venkata: Incorporating a Marriage 101 should be a no-brainer

I have said things to the people I love most in this world that I would give anything to go back and stop myself from saying. By hurting those I love, inadvertently or not, I’ve always done more or unintended damage. It’s taken 20 years and counting to realize that the problem isn’t the other person — it’s me and not knowing how to process my own feelings or understand where others are coming from. 


Column 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Ababiy: Minneapolis 2040 housing plan is a step in the right direction

The latest draft of Minneapolis 2040, the City's comprehensive plan, is a step in the right direction on the central issue of growing housing while ensuring it stays affordable. Its endorsement of density and triplexes, while not the complete solution to the affordable housing crisis, helps ensure Minneapolis continues to provide affordable housing options to all of its residents. Everyone in Minneapolis deserves a home.