OPINION


Letter to the Editor 10/8/2018, 7:40am

Letter to the Editor: On the minimum wage

Recently, there has been a push for a raise in student wages from the state minimum of $9.65 per hour to the current Minneapolis minimum of $11.25 per hour. Proponents claim this is justified out of student need. However, it is apparent to some that this claim is a scientific abomination, born out of emotion rather than reason.


Letter to the Editor 10/3/2018, 10:59pm

Is exclusion a function of population?

In such a diversified student body, how many of us really endure protracted desolation, depression, or even direct or indirect ostracism? Is exclusion a function of population, or is it merely an anomaly? The answer is more nuanced than intuitive. Firstly, many students have never experienced the overwhelming nature of the novelty that they are exposed to. 


Editorial 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Editorial: Student workers deserve a livable and higher wage

Recently, the University of Minnesota's Student Senate launched a year-long campaign to increase student minimum wage. By aiming to increase the wage to $11.25 an hour, the current minimum wage for Minneapolis, Student Senate members hopes to alleviate financial burdens for many students who juggle academics, jobs and extracurricular activities. We are in favor of the increase, as student workers deserve a sense of financial security, especially given recent tuition raises, in-state and beyond.


Column 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Venkata: Incorporating a Marriage 101 should be a no-brainer

I have said things to the people I love most in this world that I would give anything to go back and stop myself from saying. By hurting those I love, inadvertently or not, I’ve always done more or unintended damage. It’s taken 20 years and counting to realize that the problem isn’t the other person — it’s me and not knowing how to process my own feelings or understand where others are coming from. 


Column 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Ababiy: Minneapolis 2040 housing plan is a step in the right direction

The latest draft of Minneapolis 2040, the City's comprehensive plan, is a step in the right direction on the central issue of growing housing while ensuring it stays affordable. Its endorsement of density and triplexes, while not the complete solution to the affordable housing crisis, helps ensure Minneapolis continues to provide affordable housing options to all of its residents. Everyone in Minneapolis deserves a home. 


Letter to the Editor 9/26/2018, 11:01pm

Letter to the Editor - Boynton Health

Your editorial mentioned some resources, but students should know a comprehensive list is at mentalhealth.umn.edu. From online counseling through Learn to Live to direct counseling at Boynton and Student Counseling Services, no student who feels they need support should hesitate to ask for care.


Column 9/26/2018, 11:00pm

Ababiy: Power-relations in the world of academia are not free from sexual assault and misconduct

The #MeToo stories we've seen in the news have made clear that this kind of injustice is plentiful in other sectors of society, like government, businesses and the entertainment industry. Academia, with its tradition and devotion to the religion of knowledge, has an aura of being above it all. Instead, it's proven to be a grievous offender, one where administrators are slow and reluctant to act, if at all.


Column 9/26/2018, 10:57pm

Venkata: Don't nix it: vote like your whole world depends on it

I could continue to list the current state of affairs and spend pages drawing parallels between then and now. But the only one constant that I think immediately matters, in a concise, heavy, battering-ram way, is President Nixon’s campaign slogan: “Vote like your whole world depended on it.”


9/24/2018, 5:47am

Haasch: Film, literature, anime bros — please, god, stop

He comes in many forms and across a range of disciplines, bearing unsolicited recommendations and explanations. He loves to talk to you about authors you’ve heard of too many times. He loves to pick your brain only to posit an opinion that clearly demonstrates that he was just waiting for his turn to speak. He probably loves Quentin Tarantino and David Foster Wallace and wants to talk with you about "Attack on Titan." 


Column 9/24/2018, 5:42am

Schneider: Stop using 'Nazi' as a slur in political conversation

As our political environment grows increasingly polarized, people become more and more shameless in their touting of party politics and holier-than-thou philosophies. What I think people don’t realize though, is that in the age of Donald Trump, it’s not just right-wing, Make America Great Again, hat-wearing Republicans who are using name calling to provoke the other side. Everyone seems to be stooping to Trump’s level in lieu of discussion or substance. The most popular and problematic name-calling as of late has been to label each other "Nazis." 


Letter to the Editor 9/24/2018, 5:36am

Letter to the Editor: Kavanaugh nomination deserves a fully deliberative and robust examination

As a survivor of workplace harassment and sexual violence, I know what it is like when your abuser is rewarded by society, free from the weight of their actions. That weight is transferred to the survivor who carries the burden of their trauma. When a survivor chooses to share their experiences we often ask them: “Why now? Why did you wait?” Implicitly, we question their actions; though they shouldn’t have had to come forward about their trauma in the first place.


9/19/2018, 11:49pm

Editorial: Dockless scooters bring transportation opportunities, public safety challenges

The sidewalks of Minneapolis, which have seen nearly every type of transportation, were invaded by something new in the beginning of July — hundreds of motorized scooters. In addition to being fun, they were meant to curb congestion and carbon emissions. While Minneapolis residents have reaped the scooters' benefits, there are more drawbacks than expected. The city needs to take action.