OPINION


Column 4/15/2018, 11:13pm

Ailts: Widespread hunger across college campuses calls for institutional relief

Food insecurity, or the lack of reliable access to sufficient quantities of affordable, nutritious food, is a more pervasive problem on college campuses than some may realize. It’s been considered a bigger problem at two-year colleges and state universities, but new data suggests that 20-33 percent of students at four-year colleges are also food insecure. On average, around 12 percent of U.S. households experience food insecurity. 


Letter to the editor 4/12/2018, 1:38am

Letter: SJP event on Palestine history unhelpful and misleading

What is the best way to promote peace in the Middle East? Though the answer is not clear, it is certainly not spewing incorrect and anti-Semitic rhetoric to students on campus. On April 2, UMN's chapter of Students for Justice in Palestine hosted an event titled “Palestine 101: A Beginner’s Guide to Palestine.” Based on the title and description, I thought the event’s aim was to educate students on Palestinian politics, history and culture. I was wrong. 


Letter to the editor 4/12/2018, 1:37am

Letter: Altering the personal exemption rules for vaccination

At the turn of the century, the United States declared measles eradicated from our country. Fast forward to 2017, when Minnesota experienced the largest outbreak of measles in 20 years. This outbreak cost Minnesota an estimated $1 million and approximately 90 percent of those infected by this outbreak were unvaccinated children. 


Column 4/12/2018, 1:35am

Venkata: The NFL and cheerleaders have a problem

A New Orleans Saints cheerleader, Bailey Davis, was fired for uploading to Instagram what the organization considered too revealing of a photo. If you care to look up the photo and compare the immodest nature of her attire to her cheerleading uniform, you may perceive a negligible difference. 


Column 4/9/2018, 12:30am

Ababiy: Keep mental health care providers and law enforcement separate

Since the shooting that occurred at their school, the Marjory Stoneman Douglas teens have showed a remarkable amount of bravery and courage. They’ve founded a national movement and helped orchestrate one of the largest protests in American history. Our country’s tradition of inaction after mass shooting has become almost cliche, but the MSD students have countered that completely. 


Column 4/9/2018, 12:28am

Ailts: Our generation could lead the way in sustainable meat consumption

There’s been a global shift away from meat consumption in recent years, spearheaded by millennials. Seventy percent of the world population is either reducing their meat intake or going completely meat-free. The number of self-identified vegans in the U.S. has increased by 600 percent in the last three years. 


Column 4/5/2018, 8:19am

Schneider: Don’t let social media dictate your life offline

Social media has truly engulfed and defined our generation to a degree I doubt anyone could’ve foreseen. It’s gone from beyond a mode of communication and connectivity. There is a clear cultural premium placed on sharing your life online, and failure to do so renders you irrelevant. As such, the way we view the world and each other is fundamentally different than previous generations.  


Editorial 4/5/2018, 12:47am

Editorial: Sinclair Broadcast Group's message very troubling

The unveiling of Sinclair Broadcast Group’s methods and motives is a great opportunity to remind the general public that media diversity is incredibly important, regardless of ideology. Unfortunately, this incident is evidence that some media may be biased to a fault, and incorporating news from several sources, platforms and media has never been more necessary.  


Column 4/5/2018, 12:45am

Venkata: Bail bonds and what they mean

One of the things that surprised me most when I moved to Minneapolis was the sheer number of bail-bond storefronts downtown. And now that bail bonds have quietly ballooned into a $2 billion industry, that’s all the more important. 


Column 4/1/2018, 11:06pm

Ailts: Why and how we should protect our online privacy

We might value our personal information — in fact, nearly 74 percent of people in the U.S. believe it’s “very important” to be in control of their personal information, according to Pew Research — but most don’t act in accordance with this belief. 


Editorial 4/1/2018, 11:05pm

Editorial: Residents need to provide feedback on Minneapolis 2040 plan

Although Minneapolis 2040 is still being drafted, it will attempt to curb policy within the city for years to come, and will affect every policy from transportation reform and parks and open space to public health and methods for battling the rising housing costs. With such a large impending plan making its way to final vote and approval at the end of the year, there are many policies that need to be reviewed and possibly reworked.  


Column 3/29/2018, 1:56am

Venkata: Take the circular economy on your shopping spree

Clothes matter. They matter to the people who wear them because they promote a personal image; they matter to those who make them, whether it's for artistry, or more often, working conditions; they matter to the earth because “fast fashion” pollutes it so badly. 


Column 3/29/2018, 1:56am

Schneider: Don’t let state lawmakers throw out the Regent Candidate Advisory Council

Minnesota lawmakers have recently been reconsidering the process by which University of Minnesota Board of Regents members are chosen. In the current system, the Regent Candidate Advisory Council, a 24-member panel made up of volunteers, make suggestions to state legislators on who they believe are the best candidates.  The state legislators' proposals to eliminate the RCAC is a nonsensical, thinly-veiled attempt at granting themselves more authority. As reported by the Star Tribune, Rep. Gene Pelowski, DFL-Winona, who favors repealing the panel, says lawmakers like himself often ignore the RCAC’s recommendations for candidates anyway.