OPINION


Column 1/27/2019, 10:58pm

Haasch: This week’s devastating layoffs spell concern for those in digital media

The past week in digital media has been devastating, and it’s not over yet. BuzzFeed is in the midst of a 15 percent staff layoff. After a round of layoffs last Friday, BuzzFeed’s national security desks no longer exist and several other BuzzFeed teams were disbanded. Verizon Media Group, which owns the Huffington Post, AOL and Yahoo, announced a 7 percent layoff last Wednesday. The Huffington Post lost 20 employees on Thursday, and its entire opinions and health sections were dismantled. 


Column 1/27/2019, 10:57pm

Venkata: On the employment contract, part I

When students like us enter the job market, we’ll either be hired directly or contractually. It depends on which is better. For a steady, 9-to-5, part-of-the-workplace job, the preferred option is almost always direct-hire. 


Editorial 1/27/2019, 10:57pm

Editorial: Politicians should be using social media to reach younger voters

Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez frequently uses her Instagram to interact with her many followers — she has over two million. Ocasio-Cortez, who says she takes no corporate money for her political campaign, is known to do Instagram live broadcasts. During them, she answers questions and gives political insight — even while making macaroni and cheese. 


Column 1/20/2019, 10:31pm

Haasch: We all love reliving our personal 'cringe'

In the past week, the #2009vs2019 (or alternatively, #HowHardDidAgeHitYou) challenge has been inescapable on all major social media platforms. My timeline has been full of 10-year-old pictures of my friends, complete with pigtails, questionable graphic tees and braces. While staying at my parents’ house, I trawled through our family desktop full of photos looking for the cringiest photo I could find, with the sole goal of exposing my middle-school self on Twitter. 


Column 12/12/2018, 10:46pm

Ababiy: Minneapolis' 2019 policing budget looks promising

In law enforcement, community and community-oriented policing have become somewhat buzzwords. Their sudden spike in use makes you wonder — was the community not involved in policing before? But the word is here to stay, and the last few years have given us a perfect opportunity to watch as the men and women of police departments, mayor's offices and city councils have wrestled with the idea in the chambers of the stately city halls and the pothole-stricken streets of Minneapolis.  


Editorial 12/12/2018, 10:44pm

Editorial: Joan Gabel a great finalist for next UMN President

The Board of Regents announced Joan Gabel, provost at the University of South Carolina, as the sole finalist in the University’s search for a new president last week. In the days following the announcement, she's emphasized the importance of service, research and teaching. Just as important, if chosen Gabel will be the first woman president at the University.


Column 12/12/2018, 10:43pm

Venkata: Diversity in Dinkytown

Dinkytown has been brimming with new businesses in the last year or so. College staples like Annie’s Parlor for burgers and malts, a chain cookie store, pizza joints and a couple of bars have been doing and will continue to do great business. I have spent a fair amount of money on iterations of the same meatball sub order at Potbelly Sandwich Shop over the last couple years. 


Opinion 12/9/2018, 10:46pm

Schneider: The right way to remember a president

I don’t disagree that President Bush was a great man and that a man like him is a rare one in the modern age. In fact, I rather admire him. However, I would also believe it to be an insult to the memory of a undoubtedly impressive man to ignore his struggles. 


Editorial 12/9/2018, 10:31pm

Editorial: Additional prescription disposal boxes needed after first semester success

From the hospital to overdose, the opioid crisis is a national public health crisis that cannot be ignored any longer. It’s a crisis that affects more than 11 million people nationally, including college campuses. Penn State reported one in five college students know someone addicted to pain medication. Boynton Health is taking action in preventing opioid abuse with a new drug disposal box, the first step the University of Minnesota needs to take in combating drug abuse.