OPINION


Letter to the Editor 10/11/2018, 12:03am

Letter to the Editor: West Bank "improvement district" sets forth misconceptions

The Oct. 8 article, "West Bank liaisons could improve security and livability of neighborhood," sets forth some misconceptions. Establishment of an "improvement district" would not require "support from a majority of neighborhood businesses," but approval of at least 65 percent of the commercial property ownership. Several years ago, such an attempt was crushed by overwhelming opposition from the West Bank's property owners.  


Column 10/11/2018, 12:02am

Venkata: Humans caused climate change, but we can also mitigate it

Climate scientists’ prognosis for the future is so daunting and demoralizing that it takes uncommon strength to confront the problem head-on. Another saddening outcome is that most people, especially the ones in political and industrial power with the ability to help most, reject this problem altogether and pretend that it’s all drivel anyway. Of all responses to a terrifying problem, that is probably the most dangerous.


Column 10/8/2018, 7:42am

Schneider: We are never too young to respect one another and live a conscious life

I wasn’t sure I wanted to write this column. What would be the point of screaming into the partisan political void of heated debates, outright denials and tidal wave of opinions? There isn’t one, really. I try to write things that are productive, when I have something new or different to say. I thought I’d be muffled by the onslaught of media coverage and angry outcries.


10/8/2018, 7:42am

Editorial: It is time to re-evaluate the CLA Language Requirements

The University of Minnesota requires all College of Liberal Arts students pursuing a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Individualized Study to complete coursework equivalent to two years of a foreign language. The University offers 25 different languages that fulfill the language requirement, including American Sign Language, Italian and even Ojibwe. 


Letter to the Editor 10/8/2018, 7:40am

Letter to the Editor: On the minimum wage

Recently, there has been a push for a raise in student wages from the state minimum of $9.65 per hour to the current Minneapolis minimum of $11.25 per hour. Proponents claim this is justified out of student need. However, it is apparent to some that this claim is a scientific abomination, born out of emotion rather than reason.


Letter to the Editor 10/3/2018, 10:59pm

Is exclusion a function of population?

In such a diversified student body, how many of us really endure protracted desolation, depression, or even direct or indirect ostracism? Is exclusion a function of population, or is it merely an anomaly? The answer is more nuanced than intuitive. Firstly, many students have never experienced the overwhelming nature of the novelty that they are exposed to. 


Editorial 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Editorial: Student workers deserve a livable and higher wage

Recently, the University of Minnesota's Student Senate launched a year-long campaign to increase student minimum wage. By aiming to increase the wage to $11.25 an hour, the current minimum wage for Minneapolis, Student Senate members hopes to alleviate financial burdens for many students who juggle academics, jobs and extracurricular activities. We are in favor of the increase, as student workers deserve a sense of financial security, especially given recent tuition raises, in-state and beyond.


Column 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Venkata: Incorporating a Marriage 101 should be a no-brainer

I have said things to the people I love most in this world that I would give anything to go back and stop myself from saying. By hurting those I love, inadvertently or not, I’ve always done more or unintended damage. It’s taken 20 years and counting to realize that the problem isn’t the other person — it’s me and not knowing how to process my own feelings or understand where others are coming from. 


Column 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Ababiy: Minneapolis 2040 housing plan is a step in the right direction

The latest draft of Minneapolis 2040, the City's comprehensive plan, is a step in the right direction on the central issue of growing housing while ensuring it stays affordable. Its endorsement of density and triplexes, while not the complete solution to the affordable housing crisis, helps ensure Minneapolis continues to provide affordable housing options to all of its residents. Everyone in Minneapolis deserves a home. 


Letter to the Editor 9/26/2018, 11:01pm

Letter to the Editor - Boynton Health

Your editorial mentioned some resources, but students should know a comprehensive list is at mentalhealth.umn.edu. From online counseling through Learn to Live to direct counseling at Boynton and Student Counseling Services, no student who feels they need support should hesitate to ask for care.


Column 9/26/2018, 11:00pm

Ababiy: Power-relations in the world of academia are not free from sexual assault and misconduct

The #MeToo stories we've seen in the news have made clear that this kind of injustice is plentiful in other sectors of society, like government, businesses and the entertainment industry. Academia, with its tradition and devotion to the religion of knowledge, has an aura of being above it all. Instead, it's proven to be a grievous offender, one where administrators are slow and reluctant to act, if at all.


Column 9/26/2018, 10:57pm

Venkata: Don't nix it: vote like your whole world depends on it

I could continue to list the current state of affairs and spend pages drawing parallels between then and now. But the only one constant that I think immediately matters, in a concise, heavy, battering-ram way, is President Nixon’s campaign slogan: “Vote like your whole world depended on it.”


9/24/2018, 5:47am

Haasch: Film, literature, anime bros — please, god, stop

He comes in many forms and across a range of disciplines, bearing unsolicited recommendations and explanations. He loves to talk to you about authors you’ve heard of too many times. He loves to pick your brain only to posit an opinion that clearly demonstrates that he was just waiting for his turn to speak. He probably loves Quentin Tarantino and David Foster Wallace and wants to talk with you about "Attack on Titan." 


Column 9/24/2018, 5:42am

Schneider: Stop using 'Nazi' as a slur in political conversation

As our political environment grows increasingly polarized, people become more and more shameless in their touting of party politics and holier-than-thou philosophies. What I think people don’t realize though, is that in the age of Donald Trump, it’s not just right-wing, Make America Great Again, hat-wearing Republicans who are using name calling to provoke the other side. Everyone seems to be stooping to Trump’s level in lieu of discussion or substance. The most popular and problematic name-calling as of late has been to label each other "Nazis."