OPINION


Column 10/3/2018, 9:33pm

Ababiy: Minneapolis 2040 housing plan is a step in the right direction

The latest draft of Minneapolis 2040, the City's comprehensive plan, is a step in the right direction on the central issue of growing housing while ensuring it stays affordable. Its endorsement of density and triplexes, while not the complete solution to the affordable housing crisis, helps ensure Minneapolis continues to provide affordable housing options to all of its residents. Everyone in Minneapolis deserves a home. 


Letter to the Editor 9/26/2018, 11:01pm

Letter to the Editor - Boynton Health

Your editorial mentioned some resources, but students should know a comprehensive list is at mentalhealth.umn.edu. From online counseling through Learn to Live to direct counseling at Boynton and Student Counseling Services, no student who feels they need support should hesitate to ask for care.


Column 9/26/2018, 11:00pm

Ababiy: Power-relations in the world of academia are not free from sexual assault and misconduct

The #MeToo stories we've seen in the news have made clear that this kind of injustice is plentiful in other sectors of society, like government, businesses and the entertainment industry. Academia, with its tradition and devotion to the religion of knowledge, has an aura of being above it all. Instead, it's proven to be a grievous offender, one where administrators are slow and reluctant to act, if at all.


Column 9/26/2018, 10:57pm

Venkata: Don't nix it: vote like your whole world depends on it

I could continue to list the current state of affairs and spend pages drawing parallels between then and now. But the only one constant that I think immediately matters, in a concise, heavy, battering-ram way, is President Nixon’s campaign slogan: “Vote like your whole world depended on it.”


9/24/2018, 5:47am

Haasch: Film, literature, anime bros — please, god, stop

He comes in many forms and across a range of disciplines, bearing unsolicited recommendations and explanations. He loves to talk to you about authors you’ve heard of too many times. He loves to pick your brain only to posit an opinion that clearly demonstrates that he was just waiting for his turn to speak. He probably loves Quentin Tarantino and David Foster Wallace and wants to talk with you about "Attack on Titan." 


Column 9/24/2018, 5:42am

Schneider: Stop using 'Nazi' as a slur in political conversation

As our political environment grows increasingly polarized, people become more and more shameless in their touting of party politics and holier-than-thou philosophies. What I think people don’t realize though, is that in the age of Donald Trump, it’s not just right-wing, Make America Great Again, hat-wearing Republicans who are using name calling to provoke the other side. Everyone seems to be stooping to Trump’s level in lieu of discussion or substance. The most popular and problematic name-calling as of late has been to label each other "Nazis." 


Letter to the Editor 9/24/2018, 5:36am

Letter to the Editor: Kavanaugh nomination deserves a fully deliberative and robust examination

As a survivor of workplace harassment and sexual violence, I know what it is like when your abuser is rewarded by society, free from the weight of their actions. That weight is transferred to the survivor who carries the burden of their trauma. When a survivor chooses to share their experiences we often ask them: “Why now? Why did you wait?” Implicitly, we question their actions; though they shouldn’t have had to come forward about their trauma in the first place.


9/19/2018, 11:49pm

Editorial: Dockless scooters bring transportation opportunities, public safety challenges

The sidewalks of Minneapolis, which have seen nearly every type of transportation, were invaded by something new in the beginning of July — hundreds of motorized scooters. In addition to being fun, they were meant to curb congestion and carbon emissions. While Minneapolis residents have reaped the scooters' benefits, there are more drawbacks than expected. The city needs to take action. 


Editorial 9/16/2018, 10:40pm

Editorial: Rising everyday campus fees may create barrier to entry for low-income students

In May, University of Minnesota President Eric Kaler announced a bill that raised in-state tuition at the University by 2 percent. Implemented this fall, in-state students saw an increase of about $258, excluding student fees. Our campus also saw a recent increase in parking fees, with almost every parking lot around campus increasing by at least one dollar. 


Column 9/16/2018, 10:36pm

Haasch: Cartoons are great and merit your indulgence

Last Friday, I stayed up until 6 a.m. to be one of the first to watch the first nine episodes of "The Dragon Prince," a new Netflix original cartoon. This is about as on-brand as it gets for me. I’ve spent the vast majority of my life immersed in cartoons like the timeless "Avatar: The Last Airbender" and "The Legend of Korra." 


Letter to the Editor 9/13/2018, 12:27am

Letter to the Editor: UMN honors legal and moral obligations for student privacy

Ellen Schneider badly missed the mark with her opinion piece on recent allegations against a Carlson School of Management Doctor of Business Administration student. In fact, the piece shows a lack of understanding for what federal law, the criminal justice system and University policies require in any instance of alleged sexual misconduct – so much so that it several times calls on the University to take actions that would be illegal, or at minimum would be a violation of University policy.