OPINION


Editorial 2/24/2019, 9:53pm

Editorial: Support for renaming campus buildings

A University of Minnesota task force called for the renaming of four buildings on campus in a report released Wednesday. The Minnesota Daily Editorial Board fully supports the task force’s recommendation. We urge University President Eric Kaler and Executive Vice President and Provost Karen Hanson to follow the task force's report in their upcoming recommendation to the Board of Regents, as well as encourage the regents to follow the task force's recommendation. 


Opinion 2/20/2019, 10:55pm

Editorial: Hustle culture promotes an unhealthy lifestyle, causing many to burnout

Hustle culture. Most people tend to think of illicit activities and side jobs when hearing the word “hustle,” but let’s talk about the idea of hustle culture in the context of the University of Minnesota. The New York Time’s article, “Why Are Young People Pretending to Love Work?” prompted an important question: why are students boasting about workaholism when it’s quite unhealthy?


Column 2/20/2019, 10:53pm

Ababiy: Free college: everyone else is doing it

A couple weeks ago, I wrote a column about a recent report on financial aid that was to be presented at the Board of Regents February meeting. The report was informative, and I am glad our regents got to hear it, but my column took issue with it. I argued the report was too self-congratulatory and overlooked how bad tuition and financial aid are at the University of Minnesota.


Letter to the Editor 2/17/2019, 10:28pm

First female president in 167 years – but what is UMN really contributing to gender equality?

Joan Gabel was selected by the Board of Regents to be the University of Minnesota’s next President. While this may be a mark of progress – women accessing greater positions of decision-making in higher education – this step toward inclusivity should not distract us from the University’s transgressions against gender equality that took place this year.  


Editorial 2/17/2019, 10:23pm

Editorial: Acknowledging racial, discriminatory historical practices on UMN campus

The Minnesota Daily Editorial Board decided we would do some digging into the University of Minnesota’s history with cultural and racial discrimination from the late 1800s into the 1970s. Looking through old copies of “The Gopher" yearbook, we found darker elements of student life. We are highlighting this part of our University's history — not to spark controversy, but to recognize the history — instead of burying it.   


Column 2/17/2019, 10:23pm

Haasch: If a queer character dies, is it 'bury your gays?'

Cartoon fandom is a tumultuous place. Centralized on primarily Tumblr and Twitter, fans of series both new and old share fan art, fanfiction and comments about cartoon series. While fandom has long been a hotbed of collaboration and creation, fandom drama is inevitable. Most recently, cartoon fandoms have been plagued by fan accusations of the invocation of harmful tropes in LGBTQ representation, namely queerbaiting and “bury your gays.” 


Column 2/17/2019, 10:23pm

Venkata: The internet of kings

Election meddling is everywhere, and it's found easy footing here in the U.S. I believe U.S. intelligence agencies found this in their investigations. The internet also provides porn, which serves as sexual education for children. Just let that sink in. Recruitment for terrorist organizations in any country, for any ideology, has been streamlined. Actual terrorism — including for neo-Nazis or the mountains-out-of-molehills rage of the incels — can be expedited. And it has never been easier to traffic people. 


Editorial 2/13/2019, 10:27pm

Editorial: MPD continues to underserve, misunderstand victims of sexual assault

In 2016, MPD had eight sex crime detectives and 412 cases, meaning that one detective was assigned to 52 cases. Conversely, homicide cases assigned one detective for every 16 cases. This startling difference is one in a long string of neglecting sexual assault cases on the part of MPD. Sexual assault cases, like other violent crimes, require time, effort, resources and a specific skill set. However, MPD is continuously dismissing these victims and neglecting their crimes.


Column 2/11/2019, 1:15am

Haasch: BuzzFeed’s Community is gross exploitation of content creators

Two weeks ago, BuzzFeed laid off approximately 15 percent of its staff in what was a devastating blow to digital media. However, the incident also sparked discourse about BuzzFeed’s community model, which allows any user to create content using BuzzFeed’s content management system with the possibility of having their work featured or shared on BuzzFeed social channels.


Column 2/11/2019, 1:15am

Venkata: The next step in invasive advertising is here

A company called Cooler Screens installs screens on freezer doors, like in Walgreens, which monitors customers for their age, gender and “emotional response" in order to present an advertisement that targets that demographic. 


Editorial 2/11/2019, 1:14am

Editorial: UMN's responsibility to homeless community

The polar vortex has consumed Minneapolis this past week and brought record breaking cold temperatures to campus. Our classes were canceled and, though many of us kept warm at home, some did not have that luxury. On campus, it isn't uncommon to come across people who have no place to stay at night.  


Editorial 2/6/2019, 11:16pm

Editorial: Amnesty bill strong step forward in justice for sexual assault survivors

On Monday, the Minnesota Daily reported the Minneapolis Police Department recently implemented a policy that prevents officers from citing sexual assault reporters for underage drinking, drug use and other minor offenses in an effort to aid sexual assault victims and survivors.  While Minneapolis already practiced this policy before it went into effect, the Daily's Editorial Board praises the city for formalizing the policy. We believe it is an important step in decreasing the stigma surrounding intoxication and sexual assault. 


Column 2/6/2019, 11:16pm

Ababiy: The financial aid delusion

At its monthly meeting on Thursday, the Board of Regents will hear the presentation for and discuss a report entitled, "Holistic View of Student Financial Burden." I stumbled on it while skimming the board's docket. I'm very glad I did — even if going through its pages of facts and figures lowers my heart rate into near-slumber — because it feels like it could be the Museum of University Cluelessness' main exhibit in its overflowing "Financial Aid Collection." 


Column 2/3/2019, 9:20pm

Venkata: On the employment contract, Pt. II

Say you work for a company that requires commitment and familiarity, but you’re a contractor. You want to produce good work, both for pride in your work and the benefit of your customers — and for the sake of keeping your job. But, if you can’t be sure whether you’ll keep your job, anxiety can compound. 


Column 2/3/2019, 9:20pm

Haasch: Zoinks! Powerful Shaggy is the best meme of 2019 so far

This past week, a significant number of netizens tacitly agreed that Shaggy from Scooby-Doo was the single most powerful being in the universe. This was something that I was willing to take at face value. Apparently, enough other people were willing to as well. A series of memes featuring an omnipotent Shaggy quietly (and then all at once) proliferated across Twitter, Tumblr and Reddit this past week in what is currently the best meme of 2019 thus far.


Column 1/30/2019, 8:52pm

Ababiy: Decoding the statistics of loneliness on campus

Our generation's loneliness and its causes have become something of a meme. Magazines have done big, serious stories about my generation's use of smartphones. Scientists have raced to run studies on how social media and technology have affected us — a solid 15 years after our addiction set in. Newspaper editorials and columns beseech us for not being social like we used to be.


Editorial 1/30/2019, 8:48pm

Editorial: UMN should take initiative for student safety more often

Minnesota has faced dangerously cold temperatures this week, with Minneapolis experiencing a windchill of 50 degrees below zero midday on Tuesday and just over 40 degrees below zero Wednesday at noon. Even with the polar vortex, many students feared classes would remain in session due to the University of Minnesota's seemingly strict policy on class cancellations and campus closures. 


Column 1/27/2019, 10:58pm

Haasch: This week’s devastating layoffs spell concern for those in digital media

The past week in digital media has been devastating, and it’s not over yet. BuzzFeed is in the midst of a 15 percent staff layoff. After a round of layoffs last Friday, BuzzFeed’s national security desks no longer exist and several other BuzzFeed teams were disbanded. Verizon Media Group, which owns the Huffington Post, AOL and Yahoo, announced a 7 percent layoff last Wednesday. The Huffington Post lost 20 employees on Thursday, and its entire opinions and health sections were dismantled.